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Motor Vehicles in California 
 

 
There are approximately 32 million vehicles registered in California. This includes: 
 
 22 million passenger vehicles 
 5.2 million pick-up trucks 
 800,000 motorcycles 
 2.8 million trailers and trailer coaches 
 524,000 heavy duty, commercial vehicles 
 554,000 vehicles exempt from registration fees 

 
 
Vehicle Registration: A motor vehicle must be registered and annually re-registered with the California 
Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) so that it can be legally operated on public streets and highways.  To 
register a vehicle, the registered owner must submit proof of insurance, pay registration and other fees, and 
when required, provide proof that the vehicle passed a smog check inspection.  Smog checks are typically 
required every other year for motor vehicles that are at least six years old. 
 
Registration Fee: State law establishes a basic vehicle registration fee of $46, plus $23 surcharge for 
additional personnel for the California Highway Patrol, for the new or renewal registration of most vehicles.  
State law also authorizes local agencies to impose separate vehicle registration fee surcharges in their 
respective jurisdiction for a variety of special programs, including $1 to deter vehicle theft, $1 to abate 
abandoned vehicles, $1 for freeway call boxes, $1 fingerprint fee, or a County Transportation Project Fee of 
$10.  Fees ranging from $2 to $7 may also be assessed to pay for local air quality programs.   
 
Vehicle License Fee (VLF): Existing law also imposes a VLF, which is in lieu of a personal property tax on 
all California motor vehicles, at a rate of 0.65% of the assessed value of the vehicle The taxable value of a 
vehicle is established by the purchase price of the vehicle, depreciated over an 11-year depreciation schedule 
according to a statutory schedule. 
 
License Plates: The first time a vehicle is registered, DMV issues a license plate to the vehicle.  Regular 
issue license plates remain on the vehicle for the life of the vehicle and through ownership changes, unless 
the owner has acquired Special Interest License Plates which may be transferred to another vehicle.  License 
plates are only replaced if lost, stolen, or damaged to the extent that they are not readable. 
 
Vehicle Titles: The vehicle title (or “pink slip”) is the certificate of ownership, and a new title is issued each 
time the registered and/or legal owner of a vehicle changes.  Each year DMV issues more than 6.9 million 
vehicle titles, about 25% of these are for new vehicles and about 75% are for used vehicles.  Also, more than  
400,000 vehicles are brought in annually from out of state and issued California titles. 
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