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Motor Vehicles in California 

 
There are approximately 30.7 million vehicles registered in California including:  
 

� 20 million passenger vehicles  
� 5 million pick-up trucks 
� 740,000 motorcycles 
� 2.7 million trailers and trailer coaches 
� 1.7 million heavy duty, commercial vehicles, subject to interstate registration 
� 554,000 vehicles exempt from registration fees 

 
Vehicle Registration: A motor vehicle must be registered and annually re-registered with 
the California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) so that it can be legally operated on 
public streets and highways.  To register a vehicle, the registered owner must submit 
proof of insurance, pay registration and other fees, and when required, provide proof that 
the vehicle passed a smog check inspection (smog checks are typically required every 
other year for motor vehicles that are at least six years old).  
 
Registration Fee: State law establishes a basic vehicle registration fee of $34, plus $22 
surcharge for additional personnel for the California Highway Patrol, for the new or 
renewal registration of most vehicles.  State law also authorizes local agencies to impose 
separate vehicle registration fee surcharges in their respective jurisdiction for a variety of 
special programs, including $1 to deter vehicle theft, $1 to abate abandoned vehicles, and 
$1 for freeway call boxes. Fees ranging from $2 to $7 may also be assessed to pay for 
local air quality programs.   
 
Vehicle License Fee (VLF): Existing law also imposes a VLF, which is in lieu of a 
personal property tax on all California motor vehicles, at a rate of 1.15% of the assessed 
value of the vehicle (excluding vehicles subject to the Commercial Vehicle Registration 
Act[CVRA] in which the fee is calculated at a rate of 0.65%).  The taxable value of a 
vehicle is established by the purchase price of the vehicle, depreciated annually according 
to a statutory schedule.  
 
License Plates: The first time a vehicle is registered, DMV issues a license plate to the 
vehicle.  The license plates remain on the vehicle for the life of the vehicle and through 
ownership changes.  License plates are only replaced if lost or damaged to the extent that 
they are not readable.  
 
Vehicle Titles: The vehicle title (or “pink slip”) is the certificate of ownership, and a new 
title is issued each time the legal owner of a vehicle changes.  Each year DMV issues 
more than six million vehicle titles, about 25% of these are for new vehicles and about 
75% are for used vehicles.  Also, more than 400,000 vehicles are brought in annually 
from out of state and issued California titles.  
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